Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Cookie Monday…Gingersnaps

on January 24, 2011

I in no way want to turn this blog into a Cookie Blog, but cookies are a good thing, and fresh baked cookies on a Monday are even a better thing. So perhaps I will make ‘Cookie Monday’ a regular thing. Anyways, I had a rather exciting weekend, I was up for 32 straight hours. Most of those were with my Youth Group from church, we had an overnighter called the ‘Great Bake-In’. We stayed up all of Saturday night into Sunday morning baking for a bake sale at our church. The sale was a huge success and the kids had a great time learning some recipes and getting their hands dirty.

After getting home, getting a shower and finally getting some sleep after the aforementioned 32 hours of awakeness and baking, my lovely wife said, wouldn’t gingersnaps go great with the leftover frosting from that red velvet cake? Now at this point of delirium I couldn’t really process whether or not she had actually just asked me to bake some more after the night I just had or not. I really didn’t respond to her and thought perhaps I was dreaming, and maybe I was for all I knew. Anyways when I woke up this morning I had a hankerin’ for some gingersnaps. After checking a few sites for some recipes and to see what I had in the cupboard, I came up with a pretty decent cookie and my wife really likes them too.

Gingersnaps

3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup dark brown sugar

1/4 cup white granulated sugar

1/4 cup Karo Brown Sugar Syrup

1 large egg

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

You prepare these just like you would any other cookie.

 

 

 

 

Cream the Butter and Sugars then add the egg, vanilla and syrup


 


Mix the Flour and Spices

After it is all mixed together and you are happy with your dough let it chill for about 35 to 45 mins

Now take the dough and roll it in your hands to about a ping pong ball size and roll that in a bowl of sugar

 

Place those on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper

Now flatten them down a bit, I used the bottom of a ramekin. Not to thin, to about the thickness you want them to be out of the oven

Bake at 350 for 12 minutes, a little longer if you like a crispier Gingersnap, I wouldn’t go longer than 15 mins

Finished Product

I went perhaps a little heavy on the Ginger, but that is the way I like it. This cookie has a good spice and the brown sugar syrup really gives it a great taste. This recipe is a combination of a few that I found while surfing for recipes. Feel free to tweak it to your liking and post your results. Perhaps next monday will be America’s Test Kitchen’s Chocolate Chip Cookies. Easily the best Chocolate Chippers on the planet.

3 responses to “Cookie Monday…Gingersnaps

  1. foodandpassion says:

    Have you tried anything like this, but with molasses instead of the brown sugar syrup? Do you think it would change the consistency of the cookie? Loots really good.

    • Molasses would work just the same. Traditionally that is what a recipe like this calls for. It wouldn’t change the consistency at all, just make your dough and your final product a little darker. Thanks for the comment and please subscribe!

  2. Wifey says:

    Yes…you were definitely dreaming.

Leave a Reply

