Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Puff Pastry Chicken w/Spinach and Artichoke Cream Cheese

on January 28, 2011

I headed down to the freezer one day this week, in my normal morning Tylenol PM hangover, to find something to take out for dinner. As usual I found chicken, but on top of the chicken there was a box of puff pastry. I had no idea where this puff pastry came from, I don’t remember buying it, but it was there so I brought it upstairs with me. I knew I was going to wrap the puff pastry around the chicken, but what else was I going to do. While at the Grocery I found Spinach and Artichoke Cream Cheese, and instantly thought this would be a great filling. I grabbed some fresh parsley and headed home, to put these together.

Ingredients

6 Chicken Breasts

1 Package Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry

1 8oz. tub Philadelphia Spinach and Artichoke Cream Cheese

Fresh Parsley

1 Egg

1 Tbsp Water

I started by grilling the chicken up in my awesome Calphalon grill pan. I just seasoned with salt and pepper and I always brush a little olive oil on my grill pan before cooking.

If you do not have a Grill Pan I highly recommend one, it really does bring a little of that out door flavor in, especially in the cold winter. Now that the chicken was all grilled up I let it rest for about 30mins, to continue cooking just a little and also so it wouldn’t be to hot to handle and put into the puff pastry.

Once the Chicken was cool enough to handle, it was time to roll out the puff pastry. I just lightly floured my counter top and rolled it out, then divided it in to six equal squares. On each square I took about 2 Tbsp of the cream cheese and spread it over the middle evenly and then topped that with a hefty pinch of freshly chopped parsley.

Then it is as easy as placing a piece of chicken on top of that.

And wrapping it up. I prepared and egg wash of 1 beaten egg and one Tbsp of water, brushed that along the edges to help make a tight seal.

Once I had them all wrapped and on a parchment lined cookie sheet, I gave the tops a generous egg wash and put them in a 350 oven for 25 mins. They came out nice and golden, with a great flaky crust all around the chicken. I served them with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli and cauliflower.

When you cut into them the spinach and artichoke cream cheese oozed over your bite of perfectly cooked chicken and the flakiness of the puff pastry was buttery and had a great texture. For as good as this tasted and as impressive as it looks, it was actually super simple to make. There are tons of different things to do with puff pastry, a good starting point is Pepperidge Farms puff pastry site.

Leave a Reply

