Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Chili-Glazed Pork with Sweet Potato Hash…(Featuring Penzey’s Spices)

on February 2, 2011

A couple nights ago I made this dish, I thought it would be a good one to post today. It is easy and most have these ingredients in some form or another in the house already. If you were part of the Snowpocalypse, this would be a good recipe for dinner so you don’t have to travel out.

I got the recipe from Real Simple Magazine’s latest issue.(I have some issues with Real Simple, but thats another post.)The pork was a no brainer, something I have been doing for years, but the sweet potato hash was intriguing, and I had to try.

Ingredients

  • 1 pork tenderloin (about 1 1⁄4 pounds)
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes (about 1 pound), peeled
  • 2 large shallots, chopped
  • 1 5-ounce package baby spinach, chopped
  • hot sauce (optional)

First lets start with the Chili Powder, now really just about any Chili Powder will do, but if you are really looking to take your spice game up a level. I highly recommend a trip to Penzey’s Spices. They can be found online or locally for me at

Grand Rapids Area Penzey’s Spices
3150 Alpine Ave
Walker, MI
(616) 647-9767

They have just about every spice you could possibly want, and if they don’t have it they will get it for you. Their quality is superior to most things you would get in a grocery store, things are fresh. Their staff in knowledgeable about spices and they always have great recipes to recommend. After the Snowtorious B.I.G. lets us all travel again, make this a stop.

They have two main Chili Powders the Chili 3000 and the Chili 9000, for this recipe I used the Chili 3000.

It’s flavor is bright, and smoky and you can really taste the mexican oregano they put in there. So if you are in need of new spices and want the best and the best prices, in Grand Rapids head on up to Alpine or find them online.

On with the recipe already.

Lay your pork out on a mat or cookie sheet and and rub with 1 teaspoon olive oil. Then rub your chili powder and salt and pepper to your liking.

Turn your oven to broil and place on a foil lined cookie sheet.

Once your oven comes to temp, it is only going to take about 12 minutes, baste this twice with the maple syrup during cooking. Check it with a thermometer 145 to 150 is good for pork. You are going to want to let this rest for a good 5 minutes before slicing.

This comes out perfect and moist.

Now on to the Sweet Potatoes.

This is really simple too.

Peel your sweet potatoes, chop your shallots( I didn’t have shallots, so I used little boiler onions) and rinse your spinach. I had softball size sweet potatoes, I had to cut mine so they would fit in the the food processor.

Fit your food processor with the large grate blade and chop away.

That’s a lot a hash.

Add 1 tablespoon olive oil to your favorite fry pan, put the onions down and let those brown a little.

Add you sweet potatoes and toss occasionally until tender. I let mine go a little longer, I like some burnt pieces in my hash. Once the hash is cooked like you want it add the spinach and let it go 1 to 2 minutes, it will start to wilt.

That’s it.

It really is a super simple dinner with great taste. My wife and I really liked the balance and compliment of the flavors. The Sweet Potatoes went great with the pork, the chili powder added just the right kick and the maple syrup gave a good sweetness.

What is your favorite spice place, can you tell the difference in quality from one place to another?

3 responses to “Chili-Glazed Pork with Sweet Potato Hash…(Featuring Penzey’s Spices)

  1. Sarah says:

    I LOVE Penzeys Spices. It really is a great store with wonderful prices. Also easy to get to.

    Pork receipe sounds great, will have to try it. I also think the hash sounds wonderful, however I know I would be the only one in the family to eat it.

    Really been enjoying your blog.

  2. Thanks for the comment. I am not a fan of sweet potatoes at all, but ended up really liking this. Who knows maybe you can get the others to eat it.

Leave a Reply

