Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Cookie Monday…Frosted Orange Coconut

on February 14, 2011

So I had a lot of oranges to use up from another recipe for a different post. I wanted to make an orange cookie and I wanted to do it without a recipe, I just wanted to create. This is really my first attempt and winging it and coming up with something completely on my own. I have amended hundreds of recipes, changed things in dishes to make them my own, but never started from scratch, at least in the baking world. If you read the site, please make them, let me know how they are, what you think, what you would change.

Here it goes!!

Recipe

2/3 Cup Shortening

3/4 Cup Sugar

1 Egg

3/4 Cup Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice

Zest of 1 orange

1/2 tsp Coconut extract

1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

2 Cup Flour

Yields about 24-30 1 1/2 Table spoon cookies

Just like most cookie recipes you need to cream your fats and sugars. So cream the shortening and sugar until light and fluffy. Mix in the egg, add 1 cup of the flour the Baking Powder and Baking Soda, give it a mix or two. Now add the OJ, Coconut extract, zest of orange and the rest of the flour. You will have a very cake like batter, I think this recipe would make a decent cupcake too.

Spoon onto a lined baking sheet and bake at 400 for 8 mins.


Remove from the baking sheet and cool on a rack.

After they cooled, I wanted to frost them, they tasted great without the frosting, bright and fruity, but everything tastes better with frosting. I just made a simple butter cream frosting and used about 1/4 cup OJ and a couple dashes of the coconut extract for my liquid. This really lifted out the orange flavor and added another layer to the coconut. I just added some toasted coconut to the top for some crunch and called it good.

I am really happy with this recipe and I hope you will try it and give me some good feedback.

Leave a Reply

