Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Holy Crepe…Dinner and Dessert…Savory and Sweet!

on February 18, 2011

The other night I had watched an episode of Tyler’s Ultimate and saw this clip of some French pastry Chef make an amazing looking ‘Crepes Suzette’. Crepes, in a sauce of orange, sugar, butter and a little alcohol, a prime example of ‘simple is better.’

This I had to try, so I whipped the crepe batter from the recipe and got my pan going. It was great I was making crepes like a pro, by about the fourth one I no longer needed a spatula, I was flipping them with ease. I was having so much fun making them I lost track of how many I had made. Well 40 crepes later, I didn’t have enough orange, butter or alcohol to cover that many crepes, so I made an entire dinner out of crepes!

For the dinner portion of the crepe-spectacular I didn’t want to get to crazy I wanted to keep it simple, something the whole family would enjoy. I settled on a broccoli and potato filling with a cheddar cream sauce. I half baked some redskins, let them cool and then cubed them. I then friend them in some butter, garlic and a little onion. For the cheese sauce I just used a recipe from Whole Foods I found. Basically a simple rue of flour and butter then added cheddar and milk to get the consistency I wanted and seasoned with mustard powder and white pepper and salt to taste. Once the broccoli was ready I plated it up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The savory portion was a success, it had great flavor. Lots of garlic from the potatoes, fresh crisp broccoli and the cream sauce was an excellent choice, I threw in a little shredded cheese on the inside too. This recipe made the cut and will be added to my arsenal for sure.

Now on to the Crepes Suzette, the whole reason I was up to my eye balls in crepes to start with. The sauce in brilliant! Fresh squeezed orange juice, butter, sugar, lemon and Grand Marnier. So simple, but so delicious, this sauce alone is reason to make crepes monthly.

Once your sauce is ready, fold the crepes up and add them to a saute pan, then add the sauce to coat and reduce, turning the crepes to make sure they soak up all that awesome sauce. Then be prepared for what is one of the best desserts you will ever taste.

Now I am the type of cook that is alway looking for something wrong in my dishes. I am always saying how it could have ben better, could have added this or I should have left out that. Not on this one, I actually laughed when I tried this, it tasted so good all I could do was chuckle. I felt like, some to remain nameless TV cook trying another ripped off 30 minute creation. Then I instantly remember what Anthony Bourdain thought of said Tv Cook and got my S#*t together. Don’t worry I won’t let that happen again. Anyways this was a perfect 10 dessert, flavorful, rich, and simple. Try it, and try it soon.

Here are all the Links and Recipes in case you missed them.

Cream Sauce (Whole Foods)

2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons unbleached white flour
1/4 teaspoon dry mustard powder
Sea salt, to taste
1 cup low fat milk
1 1/2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, grated
White pepper, to taste

Crepes Suzette (Tyler’s Ultimate via Pierre Orsi)

Crepes

  • 13 1/2 ounces all-purpose flour
  • 1 large pinch salt
  • 1 3/4 cups milk, plus 1 3/4 cups
  • eggs
  • 10 ounces unsalted butter, melted

Orange Butter

  • 18 ounces unsalted butter
  • 12 ounces caster sugar
  • 12 oranges, juiced
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1 big splash Grand Marnier

So what is your all time favorite dessert, can you only get it at a restaurant or is it something you can make at home?

Leave a Reply

