Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Cookie Monday…Peanut Butter Gluten Free

on February 28, 2011

I had a request to do a Gluten Free Peanut Butter cookie. I took it as a challenge and did a bunch of research on Gluten Free cookie recipes. I found recipes that called for garbanzo flour, potato starch and even tapioca flour. I was well on my way to blowing $40 at the health food store just to make these, then there was this recipe from C & H Sugar.

 

Ingredients:

1 Cup Peanut Butter

1 Cup Sugar

1 Egg

1 tsp. Vanilla

Combine all the ingredients on a bowl and mix thoroughly. Drop by tablespoon 2″ apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Use the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar to flatten. Bake at 325 for 14-16 mins. Just until they start to brown. Cool on rack.

 

Yeah…Four ingredients, a quick stir and you have Gluten Free Peanut Butter Cookies. I am sure for those of you who are gluten free this is no surprise. However for those of us that bask in the glory of all that is gluten, practically bathe ourselves in barley, rye, semolina and good old fashioned white flour, this is a shocker. I can seriously make a Peanut Butter Cookie with this line up, I bet it is going to taste like some sort of peanut flavored saw dust biscuit, or gritty hockey puck.

This I had to try. I did make a small tweak to the recipe and used 1/2 White Sugar and 1/2 Brown Sugar. Other than that this was the simplest cookie I have ever made.

I dropped all the stuff in one bowl and gave it a good mix. It turned out a wonderful smelling umm…errr…uhh…dough, I guess.

Now I tried two sizes of cookies. First I tried one scoop and did the classic fork press into the balls of dough. I will say this dough is very sticky and I did spray my scoop and fork with non-stick to make the process a little less painful. I also sprinkled the tops with some white sugar.

Next I tried a two scoop cookie, which is what I usually do. I didn’t use the fork method for this one, I used the approach from the recipe and took a glass to smash them down. I also sprinkled these with white sugar.

Both sizes turned out great. I have to say personally that I like the two scoop version better. Them seemed to be a little more moist than the little guys. I will be honest and say this is not my favorite Peanut Butter cookie I have ever had. I am partial to the crisco recipe, but there is nothing gluten free about that one. My wife on the other hand loved these, she said they had a much better peanut butter flavor than most, and would prefer these over any other.

So there you have it, and super simple 4 or 5 ingredient Peanut Butter Cookie that is Gluten Free and tasty. Its kinda like the Beatles, only 4 chords and kinda good but not great. I will keep this recipe on hand for sure, super simple to throw together for pretty much anything.

What recipes do you have that seem almost to simple or good to be true?

3 responses to “Cookie Monday…Peanut Butter Gluten Free

  1. Nora Wachter says:

    Thanks Matt! I will try them for sure. I don’t think you can go wrong with peanut butter and sugar!

  2. MommyMatter says:

    Nice cookie recipe. Thanks for sharing, look forward to trying.

Leave a Reply

