Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Southern Fried Butter Chicken Curry

on March 3, 2011

The local Grocery offers a different $5.00 dinner Monday thru Friday. A couple I wouldn’t serve to my enemies, some I have no problem bringing home to my family. They make a great pizza, actually on of the best in town, they also serve up a decent fried chicken.

Fried Chicken is great, don’t get me wrong, every once in a while when time is tight I like to get a greasy bucket, some cafeteria style mashed potatoes throw it on the table and call it dinner. This was a night where I had some time, not too much time, but still wanted fried chicken. So I grabbed a $5 platter from the deli’s hot case and took it home for a challenge.

When I got home sitting on the counter was the homemade Naan I had made earlier in the week (different post, later time) this almost made what I was going to do with this mess of fried chicken too easy. I was going to make a fried chicken curry, and serve it with the Naan.

I happened to have a packet of Butter Chicken Curry Paste and this put into motion what ended up as this awesome dish.

Ingredients:

8 pieces of your favorite fried chicken

4-5 Yukon Golds, B size, washed and cubed

Good drizzle of vegetable oil

Butter Chicken Curry Paste

2 TBSP Butter

1 Cup H2O

Couple spoonfuls of sour cream

I made this all in my coated dutch oven, but any large pan will do.

Drizzle the vegetable oil in the bottom of the dutch oven and heat on medium for a minute. Add in the potatoes, give a good stir and season with salt and pepper. Let the potatoes go 12-15 minutes, checking and stirring occasionally. While the potatoes are working, it is good time to attack the chicken. I just sat down with a bowl and tore the chicken into pieces with my hands. Nothing uniform or fancy, just tried to get as much chicken off the bone as I could and teat in to chunks.

Once the potatoes have a decent brown on them and are starting to soften, it is time to add everything else. Squeeze the curry paste in, add the butter, water and chicken, give it a good stir. Let this go for about 20 minutes. You want the potatoes to really soften up and all the flavors to coat all that fried chicken. Check it and stir it up a few times.

Right at the end I added a few dollops of sour cream and stirred that in,  for some richness and to up the southern factor a little.

 

This turned out way better than I even imagined. It had an intense flavor, the potatoes were tender and flavorful. There were little bits of fried chicken skin hanging out in the butter sauce, and the sour cream really brought everything together. With the addition of the Naan it really was an excellent meal. Now the next mission it to pull off a buttermilk Naan to go with this. (Again, different post, later time)

Next time you are time crunched, but not to bad, take a look at what your local store offers and build from that.

Do you have any recipes like this, accidental winners that have come from pre made help?

3 responses to “Southern Fried Butter Chicken Curry

  1. gmomj says:

    This was a very clever idea. Fried chicken doesn’t last very long at my house but occasionally we have a few pieces of boiled chicken that linger. Do you think that would work?

  2. Eftychia says:

    Very tasty recipe. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

