Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Cookie Monday…Oatmeal Chocolate Truffle

on March 14, 2011

I had a friend send me a recipe from Giada De Laurentiis that she thought would be great to feature on a Cookie Monday. I took a look at it and agreed, however after the weekend that I had cooking if I was going to make a cookie it was going to be with the ingredients I had on hand. No more running to the store for anything for a while for me. So I took Giada’s recipe and adapted it to what I had, and well it turned out pretty good.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 Giant Handful of Chocolate Truffles (Chopped)

Combine the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Whisk together and set aside.

 

Now mix together butter and sugars and  whip until light and fluffy, really make sure your butter is at room temperature that actually makes a difference. Add the egg and vanilla and whip for another minute, include the flour mixture and mix until all incorporated. Now stir in your oats and this is where I started to deviate from the cleavage queen of the food network, she wants you to add dried cranberries and a fancy chopped up chocolate bar. Well Busty McGee I didn’t have dried cranberries or a fancy chocolate bar, but what I did have was this giant box of chocolate truffles from Costco. We went thru about 3 bags during the holidays and had one left over.

I chopped these bad boys up and added them to the dough.

 

This I must say was a brilliant idea, I will give credit to her boobness for the dough, but I am taking full credit for adding the truffles. This was a rare stroke of genius for me. If you can’t find truffles, one of those fancy chocolate bars Giada talks about would work, it is after all her recipe.

I am a huge fan of my cookie scoop, but I found for this dough just using my hands and rolling it into a large ball and pressing it down a little worked the best.

 

 

Pop these into the a 350 oven for about 15 minutes or just until the edges start to brown. What you end up with is a very firm, yet chewy oatmeal cookies with these insane chunks of chocolate truffle sticking out. Give these a try, and feel free to change Ms. Melons recipe to what works for you. It is a really good base for oatmeal cookies, from there get adventurous and add whatever you think might work.

 

Leave a Reply

