Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Cookie Monday…Salted Caramel No Bakes

on March 21, 2011

I have been on a real no bake kick lately. I made some for a party I went to last week, I got one at the bakery and I even almost bought some at the grocery store. I am a huge fan of no bake cookies, but I wanted to change it up a bit from the normal Chocolate or Peanut Butter. I know what you are thinking, No Bakes are so easy to stir anything into, change it up that way. I thought about it, but I wanted to change the base flavor of the No Bake, try something new.

I was watching some various foodz shows on some various foodz channels the other night, and noticed a reoccurring trend. Salted Caramel. It was everywhere, in fancy pies in NYC, served with pork and arugula on the West Coast and mixed into just about everything else everywhere else. So I thought why couldn’t I make a no bake out of this?

Ingredients

2 Cups Dark Brown Sugar

1/2 Cup Milk

1/4 Salted Butter

5 – 6 Grinds on your Sea Salt Shaker

1/2 Cup Peanut Butter

1 Tbsp. Vanilla

3 Cups Quick Oats

Add Brown Sugar, Milk and Butter to heavy bottom sauce pan.

Bring to a boil stirring frequently, and allow to boil for 1 minute.

Remove from heat and stir in the Peanut Butter, Salt, Vanilla add Oats.

Drop by the spoonful onto waxed paper. Allow to cool and enjoy.

These turned out much better that expected, I used dark brown sugar to give the caramel a darker flavor and color. There is a real complexity to the flavor of these, there is of course the caramel, but then the little bit of salt really heightens all the flavors. If you can stop yourself from just inhaling the entire tray and take the time to let on melt in your mouth you can almost deconstruct everything that is going on. Give these a try and let me know how they turn out for you.

What is your favorite No Bake recipe?

8 responses to “Cookie Monday…Salted Caramel No Bakes

  1. umdental says:

    i wonder what the result would be if you would stir in the salt very last and leave bigger pieces? My best friend runs a candy biz in Brooklyn and their Sea Salt Caramels are the best thing ever- they stir the salt in last minute to maintain the crunch. To die for! Can’t wait to try these.

    Celia

  2. Melia Suez says:

    when is the peanut butter added?

  3. Melia Suez says:

    Thanks. Had some sea salt caramels from Lake Champlain awhile back and loved them. Can’t wait to try this.

  4. Mrs. Reservations says:

    Ooh, I like Celia’s idea.

Leave a Reply

