Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Cookie Monday…Oatmeal Cream Pie

on April 4, 2011

***Warning this post contains content not suitable for those without feelings***

Over the last few weeks I have seen lots of blogs try to recreate childhood favorites, Oreos, Nutty Bars, Snickers and even Kit Kats. However none of those struck a chord with me quite like the Oatmeal Cream Pie of Little Debbie fame. I read a few posts on how it evoked these childhood memories of visiting Grandma, or going to the corner store with friends on Summer Vacation.

Well the Oatmeal Cream Pie brings up some not so distant memories for me. You see a couple years ago, I really mean just two years ago, I was dangerously overweight, I was tipping the scales at an astronomical 365lbs, an insane amount of weight for someone 6’2″ and 27 years old. Now I guess you could say I carried this weight well, it wasn’t like I was stuck to the couch, I was still somewhat active and got out and did somethings, just not very often. What I did do best was eat, and when I did eat it was junk. Fast Food almost everyday, countless trips while on the road to the gas station to stock up on Little Debbie’s, almost always a handful of Oatmeal Cream Pies. I had no concept of portion control or health eating habits whatsoever. It was getting way to out of control and it needed to stop. I have friends who have dealt with and defeated addiction, and I never thought I could even imagine what they went thru. But as I am typing this I am starting to realize, I was most likely an addict, and addict to shitty food.

Now my wife who was 10 times out of my league when I met her and still is, stuck by me through out all this weight gain and during this weight gain we even got pregnant, if that isn’t love I don’t know what is. I guess it was the birth of my daughter that turned everything around for me. She was a very sick little girl when she was born and fought like a champion the whole time, barely cried and almost always smiles as soon as she could, she is still that way today! I saw this tiny helpless little girl that I help create lay there with tubes coming out of everywhere, stuck in this box, we couldn’t even hold her until she was 5 days old, and even then she was still hooked up to everything. Up until that point all I thought about was how quickly can I get to Burger King, or get a pocketful of Little Debbie’s, that all changed there. If this little girl could fight this much to live, so could I. It was almost instantly that I decided to change everything. I started exercising like crazy, eating right, portion control and really got into cooking my own stuff so I could control what goes into it.

Well it is just a little over two years later, I am down 120lbs, a competitive Runner and a competitive Triathlete, and a damn good cook and baker. I thought it would be a bit symbolic today to post these Oatmeal Cream Pies for Cookie Monday, kind of a full circle type of thing. I saw a lot of recipes around but really liked this one on the Shugar Sweets Blog. It is a great blog and I have really enjoyed checking it out today, please take a look at it, I am sure you will find lots of great things, and get some great ideas as well.

If you have made it this far, thanks for reading, if you are a regular reader and are used to the sarcasm and humor, don’t worry these are all the feelings I have and the sarcasm will be back soon,

So here it is Cookie Monday…Oatmeal Cream Pies

The Line Up:

Cookies:

1 cup margarine (NOT butter)
¾ cup brown sugar
½ cup granulated sugar
1 Tbsp molasses
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
1½ cup flour
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
¼ tsp cinnamon
1½ cup quick oats
**************
Cream:
2 tsp very hot water
¼ tsp salt
1½ (7oz) jars of Marshmallow Fluff
¾ cup butter flavor Crisco
⅔ cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Normal process here. Cream the Sugars and Butter, add in the eggs, vanilla and molasses and mix until nice and incorporated.

Mix your dry ingredients together in a bowl and mix those in, saving the oats for last. Once you have the dry mixed in with the butters and sugars and a nice dough going, stir in the oats and make sure they are distributed evenly.

Scoop on to a parchment lined cookie sheet by the small spoonful or 1 cookie scoop. Leave good spacing and really watch these, you want to take them out just as the edges start to brown. It will depend on your oven, but at 350 it was only 7min 30secs for me.

Let them cool for a few on the pan and then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

The filling is super easy and fun. Just take the salt and water in a little bowl and stir to get the salt to dissolve. Mix the fluff, crisco and powdered sugar for a few minutes until nice and smooth, add in the salt water and vanilla and mix again until you have a spreadable cream.

Now that you have waited for the cookies to completely cool and didn’t eat any of them while waiting. Put half of them top side down and drop a good pile of cream on there and top it off with another cookie.

Way better than that individually wrapped preservative hockey puck I used to eat by the truck load, and knowing that I made it and controlled what went into it, even tho it is not a health food, I know it is better for me than the alternative.

Try these out, check out the Shugar Sweets Blog, Like Some Reservations on Facebook, and don’t worry, no more feelings or sappy inspirational junk from me for a long time now.

4 responses to “Cookie Monday…Oatmeal Cream Pie

  1. Aimee S says:

    Great post! Glad you enjoyed the recipe, and thanks for stopping by! And, congrats on your weight loss journey. I think I had feelings while reading your post 🙂

  2. Megan says:

    Love it, Matt… I am going through the same journey, and it was also brought on by my child. I hated telling him that mommy was too tired to play, and we were just going to eat McDonalds and watch Sesame Street again. Congrats on your weight loss, and love reading all of your posts! I love to bake too 🙂

Leave a Reply

