Some Reservations

Recipes.Rants.Reviews

Cookie Monday…Pretzel and Peanut Butter Cheesecake

on April 18, 2011

Okay, so calling this one a cookie is a bit of a stretch, but it does have a cookie base and that is good enough for me. I wanted to challenge myself today and come up with something completely different from anything I have done, while using something I am rather good at. So I chose chocolate chip cookies, something I can make with my eyes closed and something I can make well. Now what could I do with a chocolate chip cookie that is something different for me. Lately I have been thinking about a cheesecake cookie, and looking around for a recipe, I couldn’t really find anything that stood out for me. I had been thinking peanut butter, that is a favorite of mine, and I can always appreciate a good peanut butter cheesecake. Now to but the chocolate chip cookie and the peanut butter cheesecake together.

I am not to the point in my experimenting that I am using liquid nitrogen, or foam guns or any of those awesome kitchen gadgets that I would love to have. No the craziest I got today was…wait for it…wait for it…a muffin tin. I know, slow down homeboy, you might hurt yourself.

So here it is.

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Pretzel Cheesecake Cookies

Prepare your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe, if you need one, this one from Americas’s Test Kitchen is the best.

Now that you have your cookie dough all set, get a muffin tin ready with liners and give it a good spray. Put one scoop of cookie dough in each tin and bake for 8 -10 minutes, just until the cookie have spread out and are all most done, you want the to still be soft around the edges. Take the tin out and set aside for a few minutes.

Now to prepare the Pretzel portion of this show. Get your favorite food processing contraption out of the closet and dust it off. Add a good handful of pretzels to it and give it a good spin or two, basically we are trying to achieve a pretzel crust here. Once you have just about a cup of pretzel dust, dump that into a bowl and add 6 tablespoons of melted butter and mash it all together with a fork until the mixture can be pressed against the side of the bowl and it sticks.

Put a nice spoonful of the pretzel mixture on top of your still soft chocolate chip cookie bottoms and give it a good press down to flatten everything out. Throw those back in your 350 oven for about 8 minutes, until they are nice and crisp on top.

Take your muffin tin and place it on a wire rack and let everything cool nicely.

Now the peanut butter cheesecake top.

Recipe

8 oz Cream Cheese

1/2 Cup Peanut Butter

1/4 Brown Sugar

1 Egg

1 Tblsp. Vanilla

Beat the cream cheese until nice a creamy, that sound redundant, but that what you do. Add everything else and beat it all together until you have a nice smooth peanut butter looking cream cheese. Spoon the cheesecake on top of the pretzel crust and bake for another 15-18 minutes until the cheesecake has set up and is firm to the touch. Let cool completely and refrigerate before serving.

Thats it, I challenged my self and this is what I came up with. I know not the most creative thing ever, but a good start as I start to push myself to be more creative with my food  and get away from the cook book.

All the layers of this are separately delicious and when mixed together are even more delicious. My wife says it may work better as a Pie, and I think I agree with her, the muffin tins promote a little overcooking. It was a first try of something and it turned out pretty darn good, I can go back and play with it, tweak it and make it better later. Right now I am going to eat one.

Don’t forget to Like Some Reservations on Facebook for more updates and info beyond the blog!

Also a big thanks to everyone reading, this little side project I wanted to do just for fun is really taking off and starting to take on a life of its own.

Thanks!!

2 responses to “Cookie Monday…Pretzel and Peanut Butter Cheesecake

  1. Those are cookies and then some. Great recipe.

  2. Wow! Now that’s a new twist on cheesecake.

    “It’s not how much you do, but how much passion you put in the doing. ” – Angiolo Piccini

Leave a Reply

